Wk 4- Art Experience- Graffiti Writing

For this week’s art experience we had to spray paint our name. The last time that I did this was in my senior year of high school, so it was fun to do it again. I chose the colors blue and red for the project. I know that in the picture the blue looks like black, but it is blue. I watched some of the YouTube videos posted on BeachArts, but I was not able to make it look as good as the ones shown in the videos. I already had the paint, so I only had to buy the cardboard. After buying the cardboard, I went home to start outlining the letters. I outlined them once in pencil, then went over them with a black sharpie. Next, I made a mistake by outlining the letters with paint instead of coloring them in first. Because of that mistake, I had to repaint the borders of the letters again. However, it was fun to spray paint, so I did not really mind it. But it did cause some of the letters to be closer to each other. This resulted in the ”i” and ”o” to be separated from the rest of the name. In the end, this project was fun to do. It was also much cleaner to do at home than the clay project we did earlier. While doing the project, I also appreciated the talent that some graffiti artist have. Making something as simple as my name was kind of challenging , so I can only imagine how hard it is to do some of the incredible art that street painters do.

Leave a Reply

